Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Statistical databases of the custodian and co-custodian agencies of the SDG indicators
General statistical databases, specific SDG data portals and statistical reports on the progress towards the 2030 Agenda targets, developed and maintained by international organizations.
The list includes the agencies that were assigned as custodians and the contributing agencies (United Nations bodies and other international organizations) responsible for the methodological development and global compilation of data for these indicators.
- CITES Trade Database - It provides a comprehensive resource on international trade in species listed in the Appendices of the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES).
- FAOSTAT - Free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings from 1961 to the most recent year available.
- FAO - Sustainable Development Goals - FAO is the custodian UN agency for 21 SDG indicators and is a contributing agency for a further 5. In this capacity, FAO is supporting countries’ efforts in monitoring the 2030 Agenda.
- International Oceanographic Data and Information Exchange (IODE) system forms a worldwide service-oriented network consisting of 66 National Oceanographic Data Centres (NODCs), Designated National Agencies (DNAs), and Ocean Data and Information Networks (ODINs). This network collects, controls the quality of, archives millions of ocean observations, and makes these available to IOC Member States.
- Global ocean science report: the current status of ocean science around the world assesses for the first time the status and trends in ocean science capacity around the world. The report offers a global record of who, how, and where ocean science is conducted: generating knowledge, helping to protect ocean health, and empowering society to support sustainable ocean management in the framework of the United Nations Agenda 2030..
- Global Ocean Observing System (GOOS) - Collaborative system of sustained observations unified by GOOS principles. With its unique status within the UN system, GOOS is able to marshal the resources of the UNESCO/ IOC Member States to build a network around independently-managed and independently-funded observing elements (satellites, buoys, scientists, etc.)
- ILOSTAT - It compiles and produces labour statistics, with the goal of disseminating internationally-comparable datasets through a variety of data tools.
- IMF Data Access to Macroeconomic and Financial Data.
- IRENA Data & Statistics - IRENA publishes detailed statistics on renewable energy capacity, power generation and renewable energy balances.
- IRENA Renewable Cost Database - It provides up-to-date information on renewable energy technologies, their costs and cost-reduction potential to all stakeholders.
- Tracking SDG7: The Energy Progress Report (2019) provides a comprehensive look available at the world’s progress towards global energy targets on access to electricity, clean cooking, renewable energy and energy efficiency. Prepared by the Custodian Agencies for Sustainable Development Goal 7 (SDG7), the report gives the international community a global dashboard to register progress on three key targets: Ensuring universal energy access; Doubling progress on energy efficiency; Substantially increasing the share of renewable energy by 2030.
- Investment Map - Trade Statistics - Foreign Direct Investment data at the sectoral level, combined with foreign affiliates, trade flows and tariffs information. The Investment Map database collects yearly FDI statistics for about 200 countries and detailed FDI sectoral and/or country breakdown for about 115 countries. The Investment Map helps Investment Promotion Agencies identify priority sectors and competing countries for foreign investments, as well as existing and potential foreign investors. Moreover, it helps companies identify potential locations for investment abroad.
- Market Access Map an interactive analytical web application, provides information on customs tariffs (including tariff preferences) applied by 191 countries and territories. It also covers non-tariff measures, such as SPS, tariff rate quotas, trade remedies, rules and certificates of origin as well as bound tariffs of the WTO members - to help users prioritize and analyze export markets.
- Trade Map - Trade Statistics provides services trade flow information; and examines the performance and dynamics of a country’s export markets for any service.
- Parline is the IPU’s open data platform on national parliaments. It allows to consult and compare data on national parliaments including information on structures, working methods, gender parity, women’s caucuses, youth and MPs’ human rights.
- AIDSinfo Indicators on: Epidemic transition metrics; People living with HIV; New HIV Infections; AIDS-related deaths; Treatment cascade; Elimination of mother-to-child transmission; HIV Expenditure; and others.
- Strategic Information Datahub for Latin America and the Caribbean Region-specific views and tables with indicators on people living with HIV, new HIV infections, AIDS-related deaths, treatment cascades, eMTCT, combination prevention, key populations, HIV expenditure, and others. (http://lachub.unaids.org/).
- Key Population Atlas Data on stigma and discrimination, particularly in the health service sector, and the legal environment in countries (http://kpatlas.unaids.org/dashboard).
- Financial Dashboard It brings together more than 85 different indicators on HIV financial resources, these indicators are an extension of the data reported through Global AIDS Monitoring and triangulated information reported on HIV and health financial resources from other agencies (http://hivfinancial.unaids.org/hivfinancialdashboards.html).
- Laws and Policies Analytics Data on HIV-related laws and policies in countries compiled from official sources and reported by both national authorities and civil society to UNAIDS and the World Health Organization (http://lawsandpolicies.unaids.org/).
- UNHCR data sources
- UNHCR Statistical Database It collects and disseminates global statistics on refugees.
- Resettlement Data Finder This tool explores different aspects of UNHCR's resettlement programme, including the number of refugees who have been submitted or departed to a third State (Country of Resettlement) from 2003 through 30 June 2019.
- The Global Trends Report is published every year to analyze the changes in UNHCR’s populations of concern and deepen public understanding of ongoing crises.
- Operational Data Portal - Inter-agency coordination portal showing operational information about some of the current emergencies
- OECD.Stat includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.
- UNCTAD’s SDG Pulse - Annual statistical publication reporting on developments relating to the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).
- UNFPA Transformative Results - UNFPA aims to achieve three world-changing results by 2030, the deadline for achieving the Sustainable Development Goals.
- Data - The WHO/UNICEF Joint Monitoring Programme (JMP) is the custodian of global data on Water Supply, Sanitation and Hygiene (WASH).
- WHO FCTC implementation database - The web-based database containing the information from the Parties' implementation reports is searchable by individual Parties and by treaty articles and measures.
- Tourism Statistics for all the countries and regions around the world. Data on inbound, domestic and outbound tourism is available, as well as on tourism industries, employment and complementary indicators.
- UNWTO Data
- The WTO Data portal contains statistical indicators related to WTO issues. Available time series cover merchandise trade and trade in services statistics, market access indicators (bound, applied & preferential tariffs), non-tariff information as well as other indicators.