Naciones Unidas

Regional Gender Agenda

Categories of agreements in the Regional Gender Agenda

The commitments made at the meetings of the Regional Conference on Women in Latin America and the Caribbean over the past 40 years can be grouped in three categories according to the agreed language: approaches, critical dimensions framed as rights and implementation axes.

On the one hand, five approaches are defined that guide public policies and the objectives relating to autonomy and rights of women: 1) gender equality approach; 2) human rights approach; 3) Intersectionality and interculturalism; 4) Parity-based, representative, and participatory democracy and, secularism; 5) sustainable and inclusive development perspective.

On the other hand, the Regional Gender Agenda includes agreements on the instruments and means to achieve the objectives proposed in the various critical dimensions and which are the basis for the construction of the implementation axes: 1) Normative framework ; 2) Institutionality; 3) Participation; 4) Capacity building and -strengthening;; 5) Financing; 6) Communication; 7) Technology; 8) Cooperation; 9) Information systems; and 10) Monitoring, evaluation and accountability.

In the Regional Gender Agenda agreements for gender equality and women’s autonomy are also identified relating to the multiple problems which can be grouped under rights: A) Right to a life free from violence and discrimination (for example, elimination of all forms of violence, including abuse, harassment, sexual exploitation, trafficking and smuggling, feminicide, elimination of stereotypes, sexism, homophobia, lesbophobia, transphobia, multiple discrimination); B) Sexual and Reproductive Rights (for example, non-discriminatory access to comprehensive and quality sexual and reproductive health services and to comprehensive sexuality education); C) Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (for example, access to employment, social protection and social security, education, science and technology, land rights and control of resources, right to care, time use, poverty and participation in cultural life); D) Civil and Political Rights (for example, political participation and leadership, parity in state structures, social participation, migration); and E) Collective and Environmental Rights (for example, right to land and territory, water rights, right to development, international cooperation and mitigation and adaptation to climate change).


Three categories of agreements according to the agreed language in the Regional Gender Agenda


  • Gender equality
  • Human rights
  • Intersectionality and interculturalism
  • Parity-based, representative, and participatory democracy, and secularism
  • Sustainable and inclusive development

Implementation axes

  • Normative framework
  • Institutionality
  • Participation
  • Capacity building and -strengthening
  • Financing
  • Communications
  • Technology
  • Cooperation
  • Information systems
  • Monitoring, evaluation and accountability

Critical dimensions framed as rights

  • Right to a life free of violence and discrimination
  • Sexual and reproductive rights
  • Economic, social and cultural rights
  • Civil and political rights
  • Collective and environmental rights